Interviewing your Deck

Bonding with a New Deck

I view my decks as some might view their boyfriends/girlfriends in a polyamorous relationship. One won’t do, but I want a few select lovers. I think if you have too many, you can’t give them all the love and attention they require, nor can they give you what you require. I know collectors and tarot enthusiasts who have hundreds of decks, but this will never be me. I want less than 5 – 10 close friends on my shelf.

Still, it is so exciting to receive a new deck. Whenever you get a new tarot deck, you should immediately get to know it and attempt to bond with it. A tarot deck is a close friend! This probably seems crazy to people who aren’t into tarot, but decks are a sacred thing that you need to bond with and nurture in order to have a good relationship.

Here are some of the usual (wacky) things I do to bond with a new deck:
  • Hold it as much as possible.
  • Shuffle it in my free time.
  • Sleep with it under my pillow.
  • Talk to it.
  • Breathe on it.
  • Take it with me everywhere I go.
  • Burn sage and let the smoke cleanse it.
  • Thank it for what it will teach me.
  • Ask it questions and learn about it.

Yesterday I received the new Wild Unknown tarot deck (which you can read about here), and after a thorough shuffle and thanks I conducted what is called a “deck interview.”

I asked the deck the following questions…

What kind of tarot deck are you? What card sums up your personality?
20161108_193641_1478707576862
I am a deck of new beginnings that are prosperous and fruitful. I enjoy helping people succeed with their finances and material security.
What issues/areas of life do you specialize in?
20161108_194448_1478707577395
I help you see things clearly and see the facts. I am very knowledgeable but I can be blunt. When your emotions muddle your thoughts I will help you cut through the nonsense and see what is really going on.
How can you best help me?
20161108_194349_1478707577246
I can help you when you are sad and feeling heartbroken. I will lift you out of your gloom.
What quality is most important in a tarot reader?
20161108_194541_1478707577547
A tarot reader needs to be strong and determined to see what is being revealed. Working with the tarot can be challenging and a tarot reader must have a strong will to become a master.
How do you see our relationship?

20161108_194649_1478707577694
Ouch! You see our relationship as a burden? I promise to go easy on you and to take your advice the first time you give it so you won’t feel so overwhelmed at the thought of working with me.
I look forward to a long, prosperous relationship with the Wild Unknown. I hope you find the perfect deck (or decks) to bond with on your tarot journey!

2 thoughts on “Interviewing your Deck

  1. I am BEYOND stoked & excited – following your lead, I interviewed my deck w/your questions. Tell me if I did it right.
    Tell me about you. Which card sums up your personality? 3 Wands
    The future is here & now & I can show you through the layers of light & shadow.
    What issues & areas of life do you specialize in? Magician
    With my boundless expansive energy & the power of all four elements says there is no area of life I cannot help with.
    What quality is most important in a reader? 10 Pentacles
    She should be generous with her wisdom & time providing guidance to those who struggle.
    How do you see our relationship? 7 Cups
    I had to pause here because it seems my new deck feels I play too fast & loose & am unable to see clearly enough to judge right from wrong or up from down.
    With that note I feel the need to slow down a bit & study a little harder & longer, maybe pausing for a Spiritual Cleansing or something similar before any readings for others.

    Like

Comments are closed.